The Nursery Project: Part One – The Rug

Before my son Lucas was born, I had an adorable jungle themed nursery all set up for him. Unfortunately he was never able to come home and use any of it. Now hopefully I will be bringing home a healthy baby girl in October! Being a lover of all things pink and girly, she certainly can’t have a “boy” room! So began the decision of what to keep and what to change. First of all the walls: my husband and I worked very hard on painting this room. Doing stripes on a textured wall is definitely a project! (it deserves its own blog post!) I think he would kill me if I even brought up covering them up! Plus, it would be too sad, so the color stays!  On the other hand the Bud Dry airplane was my husband’s touch at the time and is NOT staying! 

So how do I turn these traditionally boy colors into a girly room? Add pink of course! So I went to my good old friend Pinterest for some ideas. I was not disappointed! Here are some of my inspiration rooms! Both have a fun whimsical look mixing patterns and textures. They also both have a background of blue with pops of pink! You can find more on these rooms at:

http://projectnursery.com/projects/a-contemporary-colorful-modern-nursery/  and  http://projectnursery.com/projects/lilas-chevron-nursery/

I am stealing… ah em… borrowing aspects from each room. First, my favorite thing of all the chevron rug! I don’t know about you but I have been loving everything chevron! Of course that is the first thing my husband noticed about the picture…and HATED! We won’t worry about him! So off to find myself a chevron rug! Whoa! Who knew rugs were SO expensive!? I could find the rug pictured but it was $500 for a small one and $800 for a large one. That is more than my entire nursery budget total!  So back to my good old friend Pinterest, I stumbled upon this blog on how to make your own chevron rug from an IKEA rug.

http://www.ikeahackers.net/2011/12/chevron-rug-diy.htm

I got all the supplies and I was off to make my first Pinterest craft project. All of these things (other than the rug)  can be found at Hobby Lobby, JOANN’s or Michael’s. I ended up painting the rug twice because I wasn’t happy with the shade once it dried. I used different brands each time and it didn’t make a difference.

  1. IKEA Erslev rug: I used the  4’7″x 6’7″  but you can use the larger one if its fits your room better.  http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/00070088/?query=ERSLEV
  2. Acrylic Craft Paint: Don’t worry too much about the brand just find the color you like the best. Sometimes you may have to mix to get the right shade. You will need approximately 24 oz of paint. If you can find your color in the 8 oz size it’s much more cost-effective but there is not as big of a selection of colors. You can always buy a 2 oz of white if you need to lighten the color a bit. Just be careful and make sure the shade is consistent. If you tend to be heavy handed buy extra. It’s worth it not to make another trip when you run out.
  3. Textile/Fabric Medium:  This is mixed with your paint to turn it into fabric paint. It helps it to adhere to the fibers better and makes it have a softer feel when it dries. You need a 2:1 paint to medium ratio. So however much paint you buy, make sure you have half of that amount of medium. The first time I used Martha Stewart’s Fabric Medium. The second time I used Ceramcoat Textile Medium. They both worked great but the Ceramcoat was much cheaper. Get whichever one you can find.
  4. Frog Tape:  Some prefer the Scotch Blue but I went on the recommendation from the  inspiration blog and went with the Frog Tape
  5. Template: I used a large card board box
  6. Measuring Tape
  7. Painting Supplies:  I used a 6″ roller, paint pan, drop cloth

First I laid the rug flat for a couple of weeks to get out the kinks.  Then measured to make the template. Don’t just go by the dimensions from IKEA, these rugs vary, mine certainly did! Find a long enough piece of card board to go across the width of the rug. I took a large box and cut it open so I could use the length going around the outside of the box.  The inspiration blog only used half then duplicated it on the other side. So if you don’t have one long enough you can do that too.  I measured my rug in quarters. Start at the center, measure 6″ above that make a point then 6″ above that and make a point. That is the center peak of your chevron. Next go to the center of the middle and the corner  of the rug, mark that and then 6″ above that.  Repeat on other side. Go to the corner, measure 6″ again and 6″ above that like you did in the middle, repeat on other corner. Now use a straight edge to connect the dots and cut it out. I found a box cutter worked best for a clean edge.

Next you are ready to start taping. I lined up my template with the bottom of the rug and taped above and below it. The I moved it up and again taped the top of the template. Then it gets little tricky. To form the next line I lined it up with the bottom of the tape I had just done and I marked the top of the template. Then I  moved the template up so that the bottom was lined up to to that line. Then repeated the first steps. That worked for me but all the lines are 6″ inches apart so if it’s easier to just measure it out, great. That was just the way I found to keep it consistent since again you are not dealing with a perfect rectangle. At this point I just marked the lines with tape so that I would know what not to paint. I later went back and filled that in with tape, which I would recommend so you don’t accidentally spill any paint on the white. I had already painted the bottom stripe before I did that and ended up getting paint on it, which I later painted white over to cover it up. Make sure to go over the edges with your finger to make sure they are all sealed so you don’t have leakage.

Time to paint! I used a 6″ roller. Always make sure you are going over the tape not up to the tape; you don’t want to push the paint up underneath.

It will probably take 2-3 coats to fully saturate. Keep in mind the paint dries darker so your recent strokes with look lighter and a little blotchy till it dries.

I recommend letting it dry completely before removing your tape. Also consider if you are happy with the color when it’s dry before removing the tape. I decided the color was too dark and wanted to soften it. I got two shades of pink and mixed them to get the right shade. I just painted one more coat on top and that did the trick. I was just dealing with a shade or two difference; I wouldn’t recommend trying to change the color completely, like pink to blue. The color may eventually show through. So in the end here is my finished result…

Obviously this is just one element of an ongoing process of decorating the nursery. Stay tuned, next I am working on the wall collage!

6 thoughts on “The Nursery Project: Part One – The Rug

  1. Why didn’t you just use regular fabric paint? I currently have my rug all taped and ready to paint but want to make sure I’m using the right kind of paint! It’s for my son’s nursery.

    • I was just going off the recommendations of all the other blogs i read that said they used acrylic paint and a fabric/textile medium. I can’t speak for fabric paint I haven’t ever worked with it. I’m not sure what the consistency is and whether it would seep under the tape. This version worked well for me and others that I’ve seen. Plus using acrylic allows you many color and shade options. Good luck with your project!

Leave a Reply

